Rum Balls

A recent disaster forced me to think of ways to salvage my not-so-great chocolate cake. The cake itself wasn’t terrible- but I had to cut off its top and sides to frost it.  The frosting was a disaster and I was left with a too-sweet-to-eat cake and a heap of left over crumbly cake sides.

I remembered eating rum balls once long ago. Basically cake infused with a bit of rum, some chocolate and lots of nuts. The perfect rescue route!

After reading several recipes on the internet, I came up with this one.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C of crumbled chocolate cake
  • 1/3 C of chopped  nuts( walnut and raisin)
  • 2-3 tbsp melted chocolate (Morde chocolate mixed with Amul Cream)
  • 2-3 tbsp rum (Old Monk)
  • desiccated coconut (optional for coating)

Method

  • Crumble the cake left-over with your fingers.
  • Melt chocolate in a double boiler. To get a smooth consistency, add some  Amul cream. I used about 30 gms of chocolate and 2 tbsp of cream. You can moderate this- basically the consistency should be slightly on the thicker side so that it binds well with the crumbled cake.
  • Chop the walnuts and raisins.
  • In a bowl, mix the crumbled cake,chopped walnuts and raisins and pour in the melted chocolate and rum.
  •  Divide the “dough” into equal parts and rolls into balls.
  • In a plate place some desiccated coconut and roll the balls in it. I ran out of coconut so the balls were left plain.
  • Refrigerate for a 10-15 mins to set.

20150405_201839

I got  8 balls (2” each) which was good enough for us. You can multiply  the ingredients to  make a large quantity of  rum balls.  Pardon the picture quality. It was a long day, made longer by the cake disaster!

20150405_202121

Leave a comment