Turning multigrain: Ragi bread loaf

I have been keen to make multi grain breads at home. So far its been a thought only. I havent had the courage to execute the idea  simpley because I’ve had many  trials where my 100% atta breads have flopped. If 100% attIa doesn’t work, how will multi grain ever work!

So some Sundays ago, I decided I wanted to try,even if it meant I’d fail. I decided its a good idea to go step by step- keep the base of the bread the same and gradually substitute the APF with other flours. I have had good success with 50% atta breads now it was time to experiment some more.

I am a fan of ragi, or naachni as its called in some part of the country.  At my parent’s place, we are big on ragi, at my in-laws, not so much. They’ve never eaten it and so don’t have a taste for it. Gradual introduction was my safest bet.  I took my tried and tested 50% atta recipe and increased the total volume by adding some ragi. Fermentation took approximately the same time as did the baking. The end result was a bread that had the distinct colour and flavour of ragi. After the initial bite, you begin the accept the change in taste. Its only the initial bite,where the difference is flavour strikes you after that it tastes quite like regular bread- the flavour isnt objectionable at all.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C atta
  • 1 C maida
  • 1/2 C ragi flour
  • 1 C water (you may been a little more)
  • 2 1/2 tsp fresh yeast
  • 1-1 1/2 tsp salt

Method:

  • Warm water and dissolve sugar. Add yeast and allow it to become frothy.
  • Knead the flour with this water.
  • Keep in a warm place and allow it to double.
  • Punch down the dough and knead some more.
  • Place in a grease tin to bake.
  • Bake at 200 deg C for 20-25 mins or till a toothpick comes out clean.

I had the bread for breakfast on two consecutive days with omelettes right off the stove!

Next on the multigrain agenda: a 50% multigrain bread!

Leave a Reply

