Laadi pav

I miss Mumbai for several things. The family..the monsoons…..the local trains.. the energy. I wouldn’t categorise myself as a foodie but there are some food items that the city offers that I do miss. There are  versions of the Bombay bhel puri and the pav bhaji that we get here in Delhi, but they are no where close to the original.

I absolutely love the regular laadi pav that we get in Bombay. Its ubiquitous- easily purchased from regular around the corner bakeries and lathered with butter and served with misal /usal/bhaaji. Made with maida, its soft and breaks easily so that you can treat it like chapati- tear away a piece with one hand and dip it in the gravy before popping it in your mouth.

I am yet to find laadi pav in Delhi. What we get here is actually bun. Each bun is thicker than the pav and the texture is denser too.

Each time we make pav bhaaji at home, my heart yearns for the original Bombay paav. I chanced upon the laadi pav recipe on vegrecipesofindia and said to myself”Enough of whining, Make your own pav!” You can refer to the recipe shared by Dassana- she’s got step by step pictures that are very helpful.

My recipe is a twist on the original pav. I cannot get myself to make pure maida breads nowadays. If I am taking to effort to making bread, I may as well eat at least half atta! Originally pav is made with maida and you can surely substitute the atta with maida keeping all other proportions the same in the recipe.

  Ingredients:

  • 1 C atta
  • 1 C maida
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 to 1 C water
  • 2 tsp fresh yeast
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • Butter to brush
  • Paper to line baking tray

Method:

  • Heat water till warm enough to dip your fingers comfortably. Dissolve sugar. Add the yeast and allow it to stand for 5-7 mins till the yeast froths.
  • Mix the flours and salt in a bowl. Add the frothy yeast water to it and knead till the dough it soft and smooth. Cover and keep in a warm place till the dough doubles. Its winter in Delhi so it took 2 hours for me.
  • Line a baking tray with paper and grease the paper.
  • Punch down the down and divide it into equal sections. Roll the sections into even looking rounds and place them  on the tray. They shouldnt be place too far away because we want the pavs to fuse together. I got 15-16 pieces.
  • Allow the pavs to rise again.
  • Bake for 15-20 mins at 200 deg.C.
  • Remove from over and brush with butter.
  • When serving with bhaaji, split the pav into half and toast with a dollop of butter on the tawa.

  
 

 

Leave a Reply

