Spanish flat bread turned vegetarian!

I have been in  the bread phase for a while now. Bathing is de-stressing for me and I am happy to bake just about anything. My choices of what I bake have chaqnged over time. When this blog began we made lot of cakes. With time  (and the piling weight) I’ve taken to baking a variety of bread instead. Lower calories and a ready to eat breakfast item that most family members like.

Myjhola’s Spanish flat bread with chorizo, tomatoes and oregano has been on my to-bake list for the longest time. Pre-baby days to be precise. The one thing motherhood has taught me (still learning) is patience- I have actually waited months to try out this recipe.

Last Sunday, the family took turns to baby sit and I got a golden opportunity to make some bread. I made Anita’s burger buns and Myjhola’s spanish flat bread.

The Spanish flat bread is topped with chorizo. I substituted that with olives since I had no takers for meats at home.  I made some other minor changes in the recipe. They  are marked in italics. I highly recommend you visit the original site for the recipe. You will drool over the pictures 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of plain flour
  • 1 tbsp. fresh or instant yeast (I used fresh yeast)
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/2  tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. coarse sea salt (for sprinkling on top)  ( I skipped this)
  • 3 tbsp.
  • 5-6 sprigs of fresh oregano ( I used crushed dry oregano)
  • 2 medium-sized tomatoes, sliced ( I used halved cherry tomatoes)
  • 2 chorizo sausages (pepperoni if you can’t find it), thinly sliced (I used sliced olives instead)
  • 1/2 tsp. chili flakes( I skipped this)

Method:

    1. Mix the flour and salt. Keep aside.
    2. Heat water &dissolve the sugar. When the temperature is just right, add the yeast and set aside for 5-10 mins till it becomes frothy.
    3. Add the yeast water to the flour and knead into a soft dough. The original recipe says you can add more water if needed- I didnt find that necessary. the yeast mixture to the flour and knead to a soft dough, adding more water if required. Add the olive oil and bring it all together.
    4. Keep in a warm place and allow it to rise.
    5. Preheat the over.
    6. Line a baking sheet with greased  butterpaper/ aluminium foil.
    7. Flatten out the dough on the tray using your hands.
    8. Place the tomatoes and olives. Sprinkle salt. I missed this and regretted it. Drizzle some olive oil.
    9. Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden.

IMG_7738IMG_7736

 

Leave a Reply

