Pull-apart rolls: chutney and cheese

The internet is a wonderful thing.

Just a few days back, I was lamenting the fact that I completely out of touch with baking. If you look at the archives on this blog, you’ll notice the last entry was made some time in 2010- a good 5 years ago. Many blogs I followed years ago had moved on and become too advanced for me. Blogs from across the globe were great but finding all the ingredients they use has always been a challenge. I wanted something simple, easy to follow and based out of India.

I found  this blog quite by accident last week. I spent  a few stolen minutes in office browsing though it. Yesterday, I jotted down the recipe of the pull-apart rolls  and tried it out last night. The result was lovely. Thank you Saee!

I made minor changes in the recipe- only in terms of flavours- marked in italics. All proportions are exactly as on the original blog post. 

Ingredients:

  • 200 gm flour/maida
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. fresh yeast
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • ¾ cup lukewarm water
  • Home-made hari (green)chutney
  • 1 cube of amul cheese
  • Chilli flakes
  • Butter for brushing ready bread

Method:

  • Heat ¾ cup water till it’s warm. You should be able to comfortably dip your fingers in it.  Dissolve the sugar and then add the yeast. (On earlier occasions, I have also used honey in place of sugar and got consistent, good results.) Keep aside till it is frothy and mix well.
  • Sift together maida and salt. I simply mix it well using a spoon. Add the water-sugar-yeast mixture to this. Knead well for 5 mins or so. I found that the dough was slightly on the sticky side. To bring it all together I used a little olive oil and made a neat log.
  • Cover and keep the dough log in a warm place till it doubles in size. This takes about 30 mins. Delhi has seen rains in the last week so the weather is cooler than it usually is in March. Despite that, my dough could rise well in 30 mins.
  • Remove the dough and flour a flat kitchen surface. Roll out the dough with a rolling pin.
  • Since I wanted two flavours, I split the dough into two halves and rolled them individually. In one I spread  coriander chutney that I had ready and in the other grated amul cheese and chilli flakes.  Roll each of the logs and  with a sharp knife cut  approx. 1.5- 2’’ size rounds.  I got 6 chutney rounds & 5 cheese ones.
  • Grease a baking tin with olive oil. Place the rounds keeping some space in between to allow for rising.
  • Cover and keep aside for 20-30 mins, till the dough rises to double again.
  • Place in a preheated oven and bake at 200 deg.C for about 20 mins. Brush with butter when removed from oven.

IMG_2342

IMG_2346

Fresh out of the oven, we had these rolls with soup and paneer bhurji. The rolls were soft and their texture lovely. We polished off 10 rolls between 2 people!

Leave a Reply

