Carrot cake

With winter hitting Mumbai,  the markets are stocked with healthy looking, red carrots. The Dilli wali gajar comes to the city  only during the winter season. For the rest of the year we are expected to make do with the orange coloured, bland tasting hybrid that lends itself beautifully to Chinese cooking  but has limited(if any) use  in dessert making.   

I have had this carrot cake recipe bookmarked  for a long, long time. Since  over a year to be precise. The Dilliwali gajars begged me to turn them into a cake this weekend and here are the results-

 

I basically followed Homey’s recipe but made some minor changes. For the sake of convenience, I am mentioning her recipe here. Changes made by me are italicized.

Ingredients:

  • 1 and half cup APF/ maida
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup shredded carrot- 1 large grated carrot was sufficed
  • 1 cup raisins – this was reduced to ½ C
  • 1/2 cup walnuts – chopped and lightly roasted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/180 deg.C.
  • Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl and keep aside
  • In another bowl combine oil, sugar, eggs, brown sugar, honey and vanilla with an electric mixer. Add the shredded carrot and mix.
  • Then add the flour mixture to the other ingredients and mix until just combined.
  • Then add the raisins and walnuts and mix well by hand.
  • Pour batter into two 8 inch loaf pans. I have a rather tall loaf pan so I managed with one.  Bake for approx 45-60 minutes till a toothpick comes out clean.

Carrot cake has a lot going for it. A- its carrot.  So its healthy. Even if you match up with quantity of carrot with equal or higher quantities of sugar and maida and fat. 😛  B- It has a distinct taste,very different from the regular vanilla/chocolate pound cakes. C- if you live in Bombay you can make it only for two months or so. That fact by itself should up the value of carrot cake manifold.

We’ve been making carrot cake at home for many years now. Essentially our recipe is similar to Homey’s but her’s  is superior on a few accounts. She uses honey and brown sugar along with regular white sugar and that makes a significant difference in the taste. Its amazing how much difference to the overall taste sugar can make.  I think this is the trick that makes this recipe special- using a combination of sugars. Besides adding to the flavour it also makes the top crust more crisp.  Homey  uses baking powder and baking soda while we only use baking powder. May be that makes a difference too, but I am not sure.  I am still to figure out why some recipes call for only b.p. and others for b.p. and baking soda. Besides acting as leavening agents, there must be some functions that they perform individually.  If you have that figured out, let me know please!

 I have always had carrot cake flavoured with cinnamon so I cant quite image it without. You could add any other spice that you like. If you powder the sugars together, combining the ingredients will be easier and faster.

This recipe is a real keeper.  You should try it before the carrots go out of season!

Note to Homey- Thanks so much for the great recipe!!  It was such a hit, I had only 4 slices left to click. Compared to your three, I think I survived better on the picture-taking front. I owe you big time for this recipe.We all loved it(extended family included!) ! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Carrot cake

  1. and that bp and baking soda I am also clueless but somehow in my head I hate using the soda so I always always replace it with bp till now it hasnt done any harm

    oh i;ve done that too… but my point is that there must be some reason why we are asked to use both na..??

  2. I am going to add this recipe to my list. Looks really simple. I love a good carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.
    cream cheese frosting is something i dont do… but the basic cake is really good, so im sure it will be even btr with the froting!!

  3. Oh…..you tried it. I just love love love this cake! I had made it last year for Christmas and I made it twice while my in-laws were here. They simply loved it. Now its a regular even back in Bombay 🙂 You know if u try any of my recipes and dont find cinnamon in it pls add it. I cant stand the smell of cinnamon so I either omit it or replace it with nutmeg. And I love the pics. And haan,if u solve the mystery regarding baking pdr and soda…let me know 🙂
    yes cinnamon hater, i tried it and loved it!!! u just HAVE to put up more recipes like this yaa!!!!this is a real hit.. and its simple too…

  4. I am just waiting to try this one out. I have somehow never been successful with carrot cakes. I made one some years ago and it just did not come out ok – so never tried again – will try this out.
    may be its time to give it another try… this one works really well, i promise u…

  5. came here from your personal blog! I use a similar recipe for carrot cake, sans honey! it’s always a party hit! thanks for sharing this lovely recipe…and I’m a fan of your blog already! 🙂
    add the honey and see the difference it makes! this is by far thebest carrot cake recipe i have come across.. thats why i am shamelessly promoting it! 😛 dint know a no body like me has fans in the blog world… thanks you for the kind words achala..:)

Leave a Reply

