Devil’s food cake

I got bored of Nita Mehta so I moved to Sanjeev Kapoor. (Homecooked, do you hear me? :P) Its amazing how both their books are called Bakes and Cakes. I tried out the Devil’s food cake a few weeks back and it turned out really well- spongy, soft, with a good dose of chocholate. The cake was great but the pictures I took weren’t.  The cake was hot out of the oven and I was too tempted to resist taking a bite, thoughts of taking  a picture completely forgotten. I also had to cut it into pieces to take it to my aunt’s to serve as dessert so the pictures were taken almost as an afterthought.

The cake was well appreciated by all in the family  and most of it was polished off after dinner that night.  Testimony to the powers of chocolate, I think!

devil's cake

Ingredients

  • 11/2 C maida/all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp soda bicarb.
  • 60 gms butter
  • 1C powdered sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 60 gms cooking chocolate
  • 1/2C milk
  • ½ tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

  • Pre heat oven at 180deg.C and grease a 9 inch baking tin
  • Sift flour with b.p, soda bi carb,salt and keep aside.
  • Cream butter with sugar till light and fluffy. Add one egg at a time, continue beating. Melt the chocolate in 1/2 C of boiling water. I did this on a double boiler. You can use any cooking chocolate you have handy-I used Selbourne. Cool slightly. Stir into the egg mixture.
  • Fold in the flour mixture, milk, lemon juice and vanilla essence toll well blended. Adding the lemon juice will cause the milk to curdle but dont bother about it. In the end it all mixes well and produces a great cake!
  • Pour into a prepared tin and bake for 25-30 mins.

010

8 thoughts on “Devil’s food cake

  1. hi Mandira,
    The cake looks yummy 🙂 I love both Nita Mehta and Sanjeev kapoor’s recipes, when I get bored of these two I turn to Tarla Dalal 😉
    Have a great week ahead!
    TC

  2. @Mon- ya? im only just discovering him..

    @divya- may be one of them copied it from the other! ;)let me know of other indian chefs that you have discovered and found good.. i find nita mehta’s recipes good.. and so far wat i have tried of Sanjeev kapoour has also turned out nice.. who else is good??

    @suparna-is tarla dalal good? i somehow have the impression that she isnt…

  3. Nah….its testimony to ur superior baking skills 😉 And I love love Sanjeev Kapoor! Thanks for shifting loyalties 😉 The cake looks moist and yummy and totally drool worthy. Parcel some over 🙂

  4. @HC- u kidding me?:P

    @divya-great!:) lemme know how ur’s turns out

    @parita- that what someone else also told me..thanks for the info…. im staying away from her baking recipes

Leave a Reply

