Oven Baked Falafel

Lakshmi:Lazy dinner days are devoted to a compulsive visits that Satish and I make to a wraps counter near an ostensibly lit clothing retailer in Chennai. Apart from the jarring brightness of the neon lights that the retailer sports and the barrage of mosquitoes, out on an indefinite war against humanity, the location and the food are perfect. We never fail to get a bite of their wonderful falafels.  I added a couple of tablespoons of oil to the standard falafel ingredients and baked them-  the addition of oil completely negates the “over drying” effects that baking can have on traditionally deep fried dishes.

Mandira: I am not a big fan of any form of  channa.Or rajma for that matter.  But I dont mind Falafel mainly because you can hardly make out you are eating channa.Till now eating falafel was restricted to ordering at hotels. Now I make my very own falafel right at home!

food-005

Ingredients:

  • Kabuli Channa/ Chick Peas – 1 cup
  • Ginger – 1/2 inch piece (grated)
  • Onion – 1/2 cup (finely chopped)
  • Garlic – 2 cloves (minced)
  • Coriander – 1/4 cup (finely chopped)
  • Parsley – 1/4 cup (finely chopped)
  • Powdered Cumin – 1 tsp
  • Red pepper flakes – 1/4 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil – 2 tbsp

dscf05481

Method

  1. Soak the Chick Peas in enough water for 18-20 hours.
  2. Grease a baking tray and preheat oven to 220 C.
  3. Drain the Chick Peas and grind them along with the garlic into a thick slightly coarse paste.
  4. Add the grated ginger, chopped onions, coriander, parsley, salt and red pepper flakes to the paste and mix well.
  5. Add the remaining oil and mix well.
  6. Shape into circular discs and arrange on baking tray.
  7. Bake at 220 C for 20-22 minutes turning over the falafels once in between  until the falafels  turn golden on both sides.

Serve with sauce of choice.

Lakshmi’s Notes: Don’t make the paste too dry or too runny. It needs to be firm enough to hold shape but feel wet when handled. The paste needs to be a just a little bit coarse to ensure that the falafels are crunchy. With a paste that is too smooth, the texture will fall below expectations. Baking times may vary.

food-006

Mandira’s Notes:I liked the way the Falafels turned out. But I think I stinged a little too much on the oil and that made them a little dry on the inside. A few more drops of oil woudnt have hurt, really! Baking in the oven gave them a nice crisp outer cover. I was too lazy to prepare any dip so I brough the good old tomato ketchup in use. The aroma of falafel as it cooks in the oven reminds me of kababs…slurrp.(yes I can slurp even if I am a vegetarian. It smells that good!)

dscf0544

8 thoughts on “Oven Baked Falafel

  1. I tried baked falafels and absolutely hated it – granted, i didn’t add the oil, though. maybe this recipe would work out well…

    Lakshmi: Its like the your baked samosa recipe – granted we don’t use oil in that, but we do add lots of butter right! Don’t sting on the oil, a couple of tablespoons won’t hurt 😀

  2. Baked Falafel are surely healthy, but always lacks in crunch as in fried falafel. Baked ones are not bad at all if you add lot of veggies and wrapped in Pita and yogurt though. Good job! 🙂

    Lakshmi: I most humbly disagree 😀 – If you make a coarse paste the right consistency, they will turn out crunchy.

  3. well looks good..but sounds more like a patty ..I humbly request your pardon if I am exhibiting my ignorance!..hehehehh…but yeah it might taste great..next time I drop in your home, I shall order for this ok…

  4. The falfels looks great Lakshmi. The first time I made them, the first batch totally fell apart in the oil. So I made the rest in the oven and it came out much better.

Leave a Reply

