Dill potatoes turned baked potatoes

This is crazy. I am at the verge of leaving for a vacation and when I think of things I need to do before I go, I think of publishing a post! There must be something clinically(or medically, what ever’s the right term) wrong with my head. But I just had to post. So for the sake of my sanity and a happy,blog -disassociated, mentally relaxed holiday, I will post. A dish on good ol’ aaloo-universally liked and almost always easily available at home.

dscf0536

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 medium potatoes
  • 11/2 tbsp butter
  • 4 garlic flakes chopped
  • 11/2 C milk
  • 4tbsp cream
  • 1 tbsp maida
  • 4-5 tbsp finely chopped dill
  • 2 green finely  chopped chillies
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • A few drops of lemon juice

Method:

  • Peal the potatoes and cut into ¼” thick rounds.
  • Boil 4 cups of water with ½ tsp salt. Add slices of potato and boil till tender but firm. Drain and keep aside.
  • Heat butter in a pan. Sauté garlic, stir for a minute and add maida. Cook lightly reduce heat and add milk. Stir constantly till it thickens.
  • Add chopped dill, chillies, salt, pepper, cream and potatoes.
  • Stir coat the potatoes evenly. Reduce heat and add a few drops of lemon. Serve hot

Source:Nita Mehta’s continental cooking.

Mandira’s note: This recipe sounded nice except for two things-a- it does use the oven  in anyway and this blog is about baking so it doesn’t qualify and b-I don’t know what in the world dill is! These two “problems” were solved easily – a- I twisted around a recipe a bit to allow me to bake it and b-I read up about dill and then realising it wont be that easy to find in the local market,  I found an  substitute- dried parsley.

dscf0539

Boiling potatoes in a pan seems like a waste of time and fuel. So I boiled them making sure I removed them just in time to ensure they didn’t get too soft or soggy. I sautéed the garlic and made the white sauce as mentioned in the original recipe.  In place of dill I used dried parsely that I had picked up from the stall of Arohi, during an NGO mela organised in Mumbai. I am an ardent fan of all Arohi products. They are all so  good! They offer many herbs-basil,oregano,sage,mint and what not. Grown and processed in the hills of Himachal, the herbs have a divine smell. The potatoes were well coated I grated some cheese over it and poped it in the oven for a few minutes to allow it to melt.

There, all done! Now I shall leave for my vacation in peace.:D

2 thoughts on “Dill potatoes turned baked potatoes

  1. wow mandy!!!!! *furiously searches for the bib* it looks soooooooo yuummmmmmmmmm!!!!
    lol ur impulse to post just before u r leaving! but thank god u did…this is gonna be my evenin snack this weekend! 😀

  2. homecooked

    Wow girl….you’ve been busy! I dont visit this site for a couple of weeks and you already have 4 posts 🙂 Looks yummy !

Leave a Reply

