Bebinca

I ate Bebinca at a restaurant ages ago and I loved it. I am not mad about coconut- I like it in limited amounts.. but for reasons unknown bebinca, as coconuty as it is, make a speacial place for itself in my heart. So its not surprising then that I tried out the first bebinca recipe that I stumbled upon after embarking on my baking journey.

 Ingredients:

  •  2 cups coconut milk
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 12 egg yolks
  • 1 cup refined flour,sifted
  • ¾ cup melted ghee
  • ½ tsp salt
  • Salt to taste

Method:

  • In a bowl combine coconut milk and sugar stir till sugar dissolves.
  • Add egg yolk one at a time beating continuously.
  • Add flour,1 tbsp ghee,nutmeg powder and salt. Mix well till you get a smooth batter.
  • Preheat oven at 180 deg.C
  • Grease a 7” baking tin with  2tbsp ghee. Pour ½ C batter. Bake for 10 minutes.
  • Spread 1 tbsp ghee on the baked layer. Pour another ½ C batter over the baked layer and bake for 15 mins.
  • Continue greasing and pouring ½ C batter and baking till all the batter is used up.
  • Spread 1 tbsp layer over the last layer.
  • Remove from oven,cool and turn upside down.
  • Cut into slices and serve.

bebinca

Source: mE magazine bought along withthe morning DNA paper.

Mandira’s note: My experiment with bebinca was set to flop right from the beginning. I made a quarter of the original recipe and in my hurry( I made this after I returned home after work. Thats how desperate I was to give it a try) to measure ingredients(or shud I blame that on my mathematical inabilities?:) ) I measured the coconut milk wrong. I ended up using double the amount of coconut milk. But guess what? The wrong measurement gave me decently good results! I think had I used the exact proportions given I would have had a  very thick batter that would have been difficult to pour.Though the recipe says “pour” I am not sure if the batter is supposed to be spooned in or literally poured in. My batter was obviously thin enough to pour.  I skipped the ghee on the final layer. I decided skipping it wouldnt really matter. Plus the amount of calories this pudding has is not a joke. Reducing a few wouldnt hurt! I

I liked the end result of my disaster-turned-success pudding. But I liked the one at the restaurant better .  I plan on trying this one again- with absolutely exact measurement to see if that turns out better . If you’ve ever made bebinca or have a tried & tested recipe for it, please let me know how I can improve the recipe I worked with( it obviously needs some correction/improvement. If incorrect measurements give you good results then something is wrong for sure!) Or better still, share your recipe with us!;)

9 thoughts on “Bebinca

  1. I love bebinca,these looks yumm. my mom used to make these for real special periods.
    She used to make the old way in the open ai, with the fire under and above with the coocnut shells burned etc…..
    Well that is if my memory is correct , you know one is getting old that i think my memory is getting blurred from the realier times 🙂

  2. Hi,
    first time here..bebinca – it reminds me of goa.I love this dessert or cake whatever u call very very much.Seeing the name bebinca i rushed here.I didnot know it requires 12 egg yolks.
    You have a nice blog.

  3. Hi Mandira,
    My first time here 🙂 Actually I ditto with sharada 🙂 I too rushed here seeing the title ‘Bebinca’ I have had it during my regular holidays to Goa.I love it so much that we used to carry 4-5 packets back home. The stuff tastes so good! I thought it would be so complicated…saw ur recipe and also got a link for another one from Rachel. Thanks
    TC
    P.S:ur blog is Beautiful blog. Happy Blogging 🙂

  4. Wow Mandira! I love bebinca. Whenever we went to Bandra fair we used to buy this 🙂 And my best friends mom made these….pure heaven. Yours look yummy! But shouldnt the colour be brown? Atleast the ones I’ve had were brown…I’ve personally never made this. Will try your version.

  5. You are one brave soul to try to make Bebinca – I have loved this sweet for a very long time but never mustered up the nerve to try to make it at home. Seems delicious!

  6. @happycook- oh wow!! u were such a lucky kid!!

    @rachel-thanks for teh link..will try it with this recipe next time.

    @sharada- i think it is considered a pudding.

    @crafty- why dont u go to goa portugesa(how do u spell that name man!?) and try a slice.. seriously…it niiiice! authentic stuff..

    @suparna- i too used to think its complex…turns out, its nt!

    @HC- it shud be brown…but mine dint turn brown!:( may b i shud have used an open air coconut husk fire…

    @srivalli- thank u

    @miri- i am not a brave oen .. i was infact a bored one! lol..thats why i took up the task of trying the recipe..

Leave a Reply

