Chocolate Souffle- in another avatar

We’ve done  chocolate souffle earlier here. And though that recipe was nice, this one is nicer!:)  I took this recipe from Bakingbites and made a few changes. Changes made have been written in  italics.

souffle1

Ingredients

  • 5 ounces dark chocolate (65-72%), chopped- I used a bar of cooking chocolate that I had home. I have no idea of what the proportion of cocoa was in it.
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp kahlua or brandy (or milk)- I used milk cause I had no brandy or kahlua at home.
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract- I subsituted it with vanilla essence.
  • 1 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 4 large eggs, separated, at room temperature

Method

  • Preheat oven to 375F. Thats about 190 deg.C
  • Lightly butter 4 6-oz. ramekins and coat with sugar. If you dont have any fancy ramekins available, simply use a slightly tall katori, as I did.
  • Melt the chocolate in a large mixing bowl and whisk together with sugar, kahlua ( or milk) and vanilla extract(or essence as in my case). The resultant mixture will be thick and pasty.Beat in the egg yolks one at a time and follow it with the flour.
  • In a bowl, beat egg whites to soft peaks. Whisk 1/3 of beaten egg whites into the chocolate mixture to lighten it. Fold in remaining egg whites in two additions,  till the mixture is uniform.
  • Divide evenly into prepared ramekins and wipe edges to ensure they are clean. This helps the souffles get an even rise. Place ramekins in the oven.
  • Bake for about 15 minutes, until souffles are well-risen and set at the edges.
  • Serve immediately.Makes 4.

souffle

There is no denying that there is a definite difference in the outcome between using cocoa powder and chocolate to  the souffle. Along with the extra calories, the chocolate lends a creamier, richer texture  to the souffle. :) But if this is an occassional treat, as it is bound to be, its well worth the surplus calories. The texture and taste is most certainly better than the one I got from the last recipe. I loved this souffle and so did everyone else at home.

There is no real trick to get the recipe right. You just need to beat the egg white till stiff- thats a slightly time consuming activity but really, its not rocket science! A little practice and you can get it right. If you like you could look up hints on beating egg whites at bakingbites.

I used whatever chocolate I had at hand. I dint(and still dont) know what proportion of cocoa it contained.May be a higher cocoa content chocolate would have made some difference to souffle, but I was more than happy with the result I got.  Like with all other hot souffle, you need to serve this as soon as you get it out of the oven. It tends to sink rapidly and you wouldnt want to serve a falt, sunken souffle.

I made half the recipe and I got exactly two katoris of souffle.

Just when I had returned from my trip, I am all set for another one. This time I am headed to Mount Abu.Should be back in the blogging world by mid-week.

7 Responses to “Chocolate Souffle- in another avatar”

  1. Wow! I just went out for lunch and ate a souffle. Next time I’m just making it myself.

  2. wow now I am going to try out this one soooon

  3. Souffle looks so chocolaty! i think its the right time for me to try this one!

  4. Yummy… Wish I could dig into it.. I am a completely chocolate person

  5. Wow….chocolate treat! Looks really good Mandira! I think this helped recharge your batteries for yet another trip ;)

  6. Back after a break. Looks moist and scrumptious.

  7. Chocolate is any avatar is always a treat!!

    Happy Diwali to you! and I’d also like to invite you to dish out something sweet for the Sweet celebrations event on my blog if you can!:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

